Trays in SketchUp

First of all, let me say how much I love sketchup for the way it simplifies otherwise complex taxes. I’ve been using it for 6 years every day (i’m a 3d artist) and love it to bits.
Having said that, guys… come on. This has been said a thousand times in the forums, but i really want to say it again.
The panel thingy introduced in 2016 (?) is just plain bad. We know it, you know, so let’s please stop behaving like autodesk and just admit it’s wrong and start from scratch next time.
And while you’re at it, take out the automatic “make unique” from dynamic components after scaling while you’re at it.
Come on guys. Don’t start disapointing your users now…

Not everyone agrees with you. I think the trays are excellent. It duplicates the way I’ve had SketchUp set up since there were utility windows to show.

Maybe i’m not looking at them the right way or using them wrong… What’s good about them?
Have you ever used Unreal Engine? Now that’s an example of a pretty good UI architecture, dont you agree? Even Photoshop manages the panels quite smoothly.

On the other hand the way panels is put into sketchup looks out of place. Too many buttons to press, too much complexity for no clear advantages (in my opinion)
Sliders over sliders, even if the panel only has one thing in it. I’m really sorry, but not only i’m not conviced, but i think it’s objectively porrly executed.
But then again, maybe i need some time to understand maybe why it’s like that.
I really hope i’m wrong

Compared to the way the SketchUp utility windows were used by many people the tray (and the way I used them in previous versions makes sense to me. I think most users used to just leave the windows floating over their drawing space or would close them entirely when they weren’t using them. Use SketchUp on a Mac. It’s still that way. You could dock the trays together but they still covered the model space.