Why is the grey area not selectable

I’m a noob in SketchUp so please bear with me. I used the line tool to make an area but the same method that worked for me on the other areas I made is not working for this specific area. This specific area has grey lines while the others (selectable areas) have black lines. Also this areas body is filled with a grey color but the other (selectable areas) body is filled with white color. This grey area cannot be selected nor can I select the grey border lines even to delete it. Why is this area not responsive? Where did I go wrong? I uploaded an image below to show my problem better. Any help is appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Draw a line over raw geometry (inside the group)

Learn the basics of SketchUp at https://learn.sketchup.com/

I already tried that but its not working. Its like creating a new area on top of the grey area. Result below.
temp8

Would be helpful if you could share the model for further inspection to determin what is the problem.

It is possible to have created another face outside the group.

wdi-02

1 Like

The model is attached below.

temp sketch.skp (80.9 KB)

i checked my tags and there is only one group.

Not realy, you have groups within other groups.
wdi-03

how do you add the outliner tab?

Window > Default Tray > Outliner

So first question does every new area made with lines create a new group?
Second I deleted the extra group and now the grey unelectable area is gone and now I can select the specific line I want to select but I can’t select the area bounded by those lines .

When i opened your model i did not see any grey surfaces.
Did notice the amount of groups inside groups which are inside groups of a group.
(as @mihai.s showed :wink: )

I guess the ‘grey’ shape (i did not see) is an opening for stairs in the ‘floorsurface’?
If so i’ve noticed the ‘grey’ area was floating (circa 1,76m) above the bigger surface.