Using cut list

I’m new to SketchUp and neglected to create components in my first model. Now I’m trying to use Cutlist and obviously can not. Is there a way to go back into my model and create components so Cutlist will work? Thanks.

It can be done, but unless the model is quite simple it is going to be tedious. You have to select all the edges and faces that should have been a component and then create a component from them either via the right-click menu or the Edit menu. Be sure to check the box to replace selection with component. Give the new component a sensible name (that will help make sense of CutList’s output). Repeat for each additional component. Where two adjacent components share an edge or face, it will have been grabbed by the first one you create so you will have to redraw it for the second one.

If there are multiple instances of what should have been the same component, you can erase the original geometry and place a new instance of the master you just created. You will likely have to flip or rotate it to get the right orientation.

There is no automated way to do this because SketchUp has no way other than your selection to know what you intended to be one component vs another.

On another matter, your forum profile is a bit garbled, please correct it! It says your OS is iOS, but SketchUp Make 2017 does not run on iOS, only on desktop OS’s. Assuming you are using a Mac, you can find out your specific macOS version and graphics by clicking the Apple icon at the top left of the screen and choosing “About this Mac”.

Thanks so much. In Cutlist it says to grab the “root”. What exactly does that mean?

Which cutlist extension are you using exactly? There are several available.

Good question. I thought it was just Cutlist. I can check later and get back to you.

Can you share your SKP file? It may not be all that difficult to pry the parts out as separate components. If you don’t want to share it publicly, you could send it in a PM.