Cutlist 4.1 can't find components

I’m using Sketchup Make 2017 with the cutlist 4.1 extension. I’m trying to make a cutlist but it tells me theres no components selected. There is though. You can clearly see the components list.

I’m fairly new to Sketchup so I guess I’m doing something wrong.

If you have nothing selected in the model when you start the extension it’ll say there are none selected and ask if you want to run the cutlist on the entire model. Is that what you are seeing?

Screenshot - 1_23_2022 , 10_27_19 AM

If that’s not it, upload your SketchUp file so we can see how you have set up your model.

Your profile says you are using SketchUp 8 Pro. Please update your profile since that information helps us help you.

Yeah I noticed that. I’m currently updating now. I’m also using a better laptop with better processor.

I’m trying to remember how I attach the skp file. How do I add a screenshot?

Drag your .skp file or image into a reply.

Shelves for Stanley Organisers in trailer.skp (79.5 KB)

Found it.

OK. I see your .skp file. I’ll have a look.

The extension’s message is correct. There are no components in the model space. It’s all loose geometry.

You do have some components in the In Model components but none in the model space. Here I’ve dragged out the components and opened the shelf component for editing to show that it contains a bunch of loose geometry.

Look at the dimensions reported for the shelves. The CutList extension reports the dimensions of the bounding boxes.

1 Like

Here I’ve rebuilt your model correctly with yours in the background. Try running the cutlist now.
Shelves for Stanley Organisers in trailer dr.skp (84.8 KB)

It should look like this.

And this shows an exploded view of the version I made. Each “board” is a component.

2 Likes

Dave, you consistently go above and beyond the necessary in your replies. Just want to let you know how much I admire that.

2 Likes

Thank you sir.