Total newbie question...Best way to make "cutout"

Hello,

Heard about Sketchup in Lumberjocks and it sounded like a good tool for planning out projects. I downloaded Maker 2017 version and have gone through some tutorials. However, I still feel like I must be doing things the hard way.

Seeing some of the sketches people on here are posting, I’m kind of embarrassed to even ask a simple question like this, but one thing I am struggling with is how to draw an object that’s an irregular shape. For example, I want to create a piece that’s 1/2" thick, 9 1/2" long and 4 1/2" high with a 1/4" wide and 1 1/2" high “cutout” on each side of the bottom.

From the tutorials I’ve watched the steps seem to be:

1. Draw 1/2" by 9 1/2" rectangle
  2. Select the rectangle and “Pull” it to height of 4 1/2"
  3. Rotate object so I’m looking at it from end. At that point it looks like a 1/2"x4 1/2" high rectangle.
  4. Draw a line to create new “face”.
  5. Push the new face in 1/4".

The thing I’m struggling with is how to draw the line 1 1/2" up from the bottom. What I’m ending up doing is drawing the face by drawing 4 lines to make a 1/2"x1 1/2" rectangle and then pushing that.

I’m sure there is a simpler way, but I can’t figure out what it is.

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

Zvonko

Figures. As soon as I ask, I find the Tape Measure. That seems to be the answer, right?

If there is an even simpler way, please let me know.

You could use the Move tool too. Select the bottom edge, choose the Move tool, tap the modifier key shown at the bottom of the window to do a Copy (Ctrl in your case), then drag anywhere upwards on the front face.

When drawing things you can get accurate distance by typing what you want. Here are your steps, only I’m typing the distances that I want.

Wow. Not only did you respond quickly, but you even did a video. Impressive. Thank you!