Layout or SketchUp? NEWbie question

Hello,

As of yesterday I am a complete newbie to SketchUp and LayOut, which I gather are different. I’ve spent several hours now trying to answer my questions by using the programs. Neither seems to want to let me do what I want, but I think that’s because of operator error.

I want to see whether the seven panels of a proposed doghouse plan can be sawn from two sheets of 4-foot by 8-foot plywood. I know the dimensions of the seven panels.

First, which program should I use, SketchUp or LayOut? Is that even a good question?

I want to create and be able to move and rotate the seven various panels and eventually “place” them on two sheets that are 48 inches by 96 inches, i.e., ordinary 4 by 8 sheets. Then I want to add dimensions to those panels to use the resulting printouts, on 8.5 by 11 paper, as the plan.

How do I scale 96 inches IRL to 10 inches on paper? How do I create the seven rectangles of the right dimensions? How do I move those rectangles from place to place on the 4 by 8 background to see how it all fits?

I know I’ve asked a lot of questions. Any help you can offer this NOObie will be appreciated.

If I were doing something like that (and coincidentally, I am working on a project right now where the same sort of thing needs to be done) I would draw the 3D Model in SketchUp making components of each part that needs to be cut out of wood/plywood. Then I would lay those parts out over rectangles drawn to 48x96. You can then play with arranging them as needed.

I would create scenes to show what I want to show in the plan and then send the SketchUp file to LayOut to do the documentation with labels and dimensions.Once you get the SketchUp scenes as viewports in LayOut, it’s a simple matter to set the scale so the plywood sheet will fit onto the paper.

You can do it all in SU Make (the free version).