SketchUp zoom extents issue with text

I’ve got a model that zoomed right out when I tried to orbit, becoming invisible except for the text labels and unable to zoom in etc.
Searching through the other posts on here, it seems like it’s either a massive or far-away entity (I can’t find one) or a problem with a mis-pointed label. I think the second is very likely but I can’t identify it, I tried deleting them one by one but this changed nothing except I now can’t see anything!
Help please - it’s not at all a complicated model but there’s some info on it that I can’t remember to re-create it.
Sorry, I’m new to this so apologies if anything’s not clear.

If you upload your model using at the top of the reply window, I’ll take a look at and see if I can fix it. I’ve seen a bunch with symptoms like you describe and could usually save them.

Draft Plan 9m.skp (150.7 KB)

Thanks slbaumgartner - much appreciated! I saw your name on the other posts I looked at - I’ll make sure to put my text in different layer next time!

There were a bunch of Texts that were astronomically far from the origin. Whatever it is that triggers this bug in SU, you evidently hit it multiple times! Here’s what I was able to recover (the texts on Pluto are gone).

Draft Plan 9m - fix.skp (173.1 KB)

1 Like

Thanks - that’s brilliant! Wish I knew what it was that caused it - possibly deleting a face that had a label pointing to it?
Sorted this one anyway - much appreciated

This is about the third time we’ve seen this bug identified on the forum. Has anyone submitted a bug report?

An excellent hypothesis.

It is somehow related to having a model that is 2D and placing annotation texts around it, though so far nobody who’s had it happen can say exactly what provoked it, they just see the consequences later as you did.