Sketchup failed to open document!

Hello, when I try to open the model I’m working on today after a few hours, it gives the attached opening error. How can we get this model back without losing it?
File link: Yeni Amerikan.skp - Google Drive
Picture;
indir

It opens for me, albeit slowly. You have managed to stuff more than 11 million edges and almost 7 million faces in a single small house or apartment. Quite a record. Purging the file takes more than half of the file size away but it remains massive and won’t get any more responsive from that. Don’t even try opening this directly from the cloud or a cloud-backed folder, if that is where you are storing it.
(warning to others, the file is almost a gigabyte!, for a model of a living room and kitchen)

3 Likes

I think it’s so big because of the models in it, because I’m new to this program, I don’t know how to drop polygons. I hope the file will be saved.

There are a lot of things in the model that are too detailed. Here are a couple of examples:

There are 716 rods in the model that are separate groups, and each one is made up of a 360 segment circle at each end. Those alone are over 1 million entities.

There is a curtain used a few times, which has more detail than it needs. Again, that alone is over 1 million entities.

There are about 15 groups named 3DGeom_Definition (or a variation of that name), that appear to be identical. All of those could be replaced with one component.

Did a lot of the model come from importing files from other tools? If you got most things from 3D Warehouse, then it could be the original person who made the model that made things be too detailed.

2 Likes

I modeled the places where special modeling was needed, but I downloaded the other objects separately from a site with models related to sketchup. Is there a way to solve this?

Don’t know about other sites and what tools they have, but in the case of 3D Warehouse you can filter the results based on how complicated they are.