SketchUp does not start after pressing "Start using SketchUp"

I’m new to Sketchup. I’ve just installed “SketchUp Make 2016” and tried to use it. The splash window shows up fine. I choose a default template, then press “Start using SketchUp” and then nothing happens. (At least, visually; in the “Task Manager”, I see that there’s a process called “Sketchup Application” that’s using about 30% of the CPU and 75MB of memory). I’ve waited for minutes, and still nothing happens.

I’ve seen that some people reported something similar, and got it solved by installing the 32-bit version. In my case, the behavior is the same whether I install the 32-bit or the 64-bit versions.

During the installation, I was asked to close some programs running on my machine; I chose the option to not close them and instead restart the computer later. Which I did.

The only potentially out of the ordinary thing is that in the Device Manager, there are two devices shown under “Display Adapters”:

1. AMD Radeon R7 M270
  2. Intel(R) HD Graphics Family

Don’t know if it has any impact, but it may be worth mentioning.

Any solution/nudge in the right direction is appreciated.

When you installed it, did you right click on the installer and choose Run as administrator?

Thank you for the reply.

No, I have not, but it does not matter – I’m asked to provide the ‘admin’ approval for the installer, even if I just double click on the installer. Just as a precaution, I’ve uninstalled and ran the installer with ‘Run as Administrator’ and the behavior is the same (this time I’ve installed the x64 version).

This is totally normal, especially for a mobile system (laptop, notebook, etc.)

#2 is the GPU that is built into the Intel CPU & chipset (called collectively an APU.) This is known as “integrated graphics”.

#1 is apparently either an expansion card installed by your OEM, or an extra GPU built onto the motherboard by your machine’s OEM. This is called “discrete graphics”.