Sketchup 2023 Pro issues and flaws

I have been using Sketchup Pro for many years and have always upgraded to the latest version. So far, my experience with it has been very good. Unfortunately, not so with the upgrade to Sktetchup 2023Pro. It seems to me that there are some basic bugs with the new version. I have not tested Layout 2023 yet.
Until today I have the following problems in version 2023:

• the toolbars are not saved, when opening an existing model only the “getting started” toolbar is active.
  • the set trays are displayed, but do not work (frozen), as a remedy you have to close and reopen them individually, then they work again

Fortunately, models that were saved in 2023 can be transferred back to 2022.

I hope that the version 2023 will be revised soon and in the meantime I will continue to work with 2022.

PS
I find the new flip tool in 2023 very helpful.

3 Likes

here is another issue with 2023:

• when scenes are excluded from animation (by unchecking “inlude in animation”) they are lost completely and cannot be displayed again.
  • after unchecking “include in animation” it took a long time (about 18sec) until the next step could be executed, the same action with 2022 takes a few milliseconds on the same computer.

I hope that these problems will be solved soon

I’m using Win 11 with 11th Gen Intel Core i7-1165G7 2.80GHz with 32.0 GB memory.

1 Like

SketchUp 2023 freezes once I click Customize Toolbar… Have to force quit. Very annoying.

1 Like

on Mac ?

Yeah, I’ve had that, I deactivated all my extensions, deleted 2-3 I wasn’t using anyway, and turned them on group by group, it solved the issue. might be one of them caused the issue, improper loading or something.

3 Likes

confirming it works

For the uncheck include in animation, you may notice that the camera for that scene gets changed to match the current camera. A work around for now is to click on that scene’s tab before removing it from the animation.