Roof line question?

Hi everyone, I am working on the exterior of a house for a friend. I have never done an exterior of a house before and all they want is just some suggestions and or concepts on just the front porch. I have created the front porch and basically the front of the house. It’s just the porch area I am working on, but I want to also have the roof on the house.

I have attached a pic of the actual house so you can see how it looks and the roof has a 8:12 pitch. I have also attached a screen shot of my render so far in sketch up.

I have been pulling my hair out trying to make the appropriate roof line on each side of the porch area. I am hoping someone can lend a hand? Thanks so much!!

Jay

Best to include a copy of your .skp file and a description of exactly what operation is hanging you up for the best advice.

Thanks for taking the time! I have attached the file here, which should make it easier for someone to see what I am after :slight_smile:
Thanks again for your help!

Jay
Eva house no garage1 for sketchup forum.skp (13.4 MB)

Here’s one way to work it out. This uses the rotated rectangle tool and leverages inference locking. You can see the lines darken when I press the shift key.

Roof with R-R

This video may be of value Down Arrow Key

There’s a lot of things you could do. I might approach it something like this:

Follow me will make the hips. If you include the garage, it will do the hips and valleys for that too.

1 Like

There are many “right” ways to tackle this. Key concepts here are the use of axis locking via the arrow keys, modifier keys, the of moving specific nodes and edges of geometry with the move tool, and toggling Hide Rest of Model while editing groups.

ezgif.com-gif-maker (1)

Wow! Thank you so much guys!! I really appreciate all the work you have gone through to help me! This forum is so great!!

I will give this all a try! :slight_smile:
Jay

1 Like