Kitchen & Bath Tile Design

Hello everyone, I am VERY new to Sketch Up and have been using the trial version for about two weeks now. I am looking for a replacement software program for an outdated program that I have been using almost a decade. I am trying to find out if Sketch Up will easily draw bathroom and kitchen tile designs. My designs often have multiple sizes of tiles, along with various directional layouts. Does anyone know if this program can do this type of work without investing hours to each design? I have Googled this until I can no longer Google. :smile:

Any help would be very much appreciated. I did see that Gadget2020 had a drawing similar to something I’m looking for, but as a new member, I cannot email them direct.

Thank you,
Erika Frey

The short answer is yes. You can use SketchUp to create tile designs.

Thank you David! I have seen many drawings with bath and kitchen layouts from Sketch Up. My real question is can the tile be applied easily and can I draw multiple sizes of tile easily as well?

Erika, there are a number of things you can do depending on what you need from the model. Are you designing the tile or are you just using existing tiles to create various patterns or layouts? Are you only doing the tile design or are you designing entire rooms. It may be that you would be best served by using materials/textures for the tiles. Or perhaps you need to draw each tile out. You might draw the tile layout in SU and create a texture from it. Maybe each tile needs to be a component and you place them much like you would if you were installing real tile.

You can do any of those things but you need to determine what you want as the end result.

Hi Dave,