How to Create 3D Versions of Kitchen Designs Using CAD Drawings

Hi all, i’m extremely new to SketchUp and I was hoping someone could help guide me in the right direction.

The company I work with designs kitchens and bathrooms, they’d like to start using SketchUp in the hopes of creating 3D versions of their kitchens/bathrooms during the design phase to show a potential client what is possible.

Their plan was to take a CAD drawing, import it into SketchUp, and transform it into a 3D version of what their design will look like. Is that possible? If so, any advice on the best way to go about this? Is there a specific file type we need in order to import into SketchUp? How long would projects like this take to complete for someone still learning the program? etc.

We’re in the very early stages but we’re trying to gauge by the end of the week if this is even possible, and hopefully get some advice on the best way to go about it using this software. Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks,

Joe

Sure you can. I just did such a model for a colleague who just draws 2D in the same software package I use, but eventually .dwg files get the linework into SketchUp. Quick and dirty, you can extrude a typical cabinet cross section in seconds, but you probably need real cabinets with detail. I suggest checking out the Kraft Maid dynamic components in 3D Warehouse as an example of what can be done with dynamic components. Open the options dialog, and you can choose cabinet size and options. Interact with them and you can open doors and pull out drawers.

1 Like

After you make your decision, since you’re new to SketchUp, I suggest you take the time to teach yourself the basics before launching too far into detailed design. https://learn.sketchup.com/. This will help when you get to the more complex stuff like working with CAD files, components, construction documents, etc.