Help Modeling a Giant Red Spoon

Hi! I’m Josh from Ontario, Canada… First time posting here in the Sketchup Community.
I’m the draftsman for a national sign company in the Toronto area and I’ve been tasked with modeling this 11 foot tall spoon for a national fast food chain that I can’t mention because of NDA.

They haven’t provided me much to go on except for a few low-res images and I’ve been trying for days to get the shape right. I’m especially having a hard time shaping the curved back of the spoon’s bowl.

I’ve tried “quad” modeling and “section” modeling but I’m afraid I’m not very good at it. I’ve also tried using Chris Fullmer’s Shape Bender extension with some luck but its still not exactly the shape that the client is looking for.

Would love some advice on the best ways to get a nice smooth round shape on the back. Thanks!

11ft Spoon.dxf (14.5 KB) DQ Next Gen Rebrand - Big Red Spoon.skp (917.1 KB)

I haven’t had time to look at your dxf or .skp files but I traced the side view of the spoon in the image. Does that look close? I used FredoSpline from Sketchucation to draw the curves.

Thanks… I’ve managed to trace the vectors in the DXF file that was attached.

I can’t quite get the side view to match up with the front view though. And since the client couldn’t provide any back view or bottom view, I’m just guessing at the curve of the bowl on the back…

I have to get started with an online student shortly so I don’t have time to dive into this fully but it looks like you have a pretty decent representation of the spoon. Since these things already exist I assume you just need to make a respectable version that could be used in a larger model of the store. It seems like you’ve got that. I would model an ellipsoid and intersect it with the spoon shape. Then erase what isn’t spoon.

The side view appears to show a hidden line (the bowl interior) with a solid line