Fredo Scale - difficulty in retaining original face

Hi, I’m new to this so probably just haven’t found the answer to the problem on this forum. Anyway, I’ve tried using Fredo Scale to create rose petals from a traced jpeg. As soon as I try to bend the newly made component of the petal, it creates breaks/ holes in the face of the component. I have seen the tutorials for making a rose created from a cut section of a globe using Fredo Scale, which seemed to work ok in the tutorial but when I tried to replicate it, even the globe section lost the original face and had holes appear in the surface after using the extension. I’ve tried to correct this manually by re-drawing the lines and then hiding or softening them to lose the visible amendments. Any clues what I’m doing wrong or is this a common problem?

First guess is that you are working on too small a scale.

Try scaling up by a factor of 12x (feet for inches if you are using inches) or 10x, 100x or 1000x if using mm.

Search this forum for the ‘Dave method’ - make your original petal into a component, make a copy, then scale up and work on the copy. Delete the large copy when done, and Zoom Extents to see the result, scaled back down to original size, and hopefully without the gaps.

SU can preserve small edges when scaled down from a larger component, but not create very small edges at actual size.

1 Like

Thanks for the quick response - most appreciated.

I’ve tried scaling up the petal, no change no matter how big I’ve scaled it. However, I created a geometric shape alongside it and it created a perfect bend using Fredo Scale without breakage to the face. Any help?

It would be much easier to give you help if you shared the SKP file of the petal and the setup you are trying to use to bend it.

Are you absolutely wedded to the use of Fredoscale for this job?

Hi. Couldn’t find the “Dave Method” other than massive amounts of referrals to it - Popular post!