Can't highlight and select push / pull

Hi there,
I’m a sketch up newbie. I created a 2D floorplan yet I cannot / not sure how to turn this into 3D as I cannot push / pull my walls. When I select push/ pull and hover over walls, there is a little red “x” mark and nothing happens. Can you help please?

It could be one of several things. Either the surface you are trying to extrude is no a single face or maybe you have the geometry grouped and haven’t opened the group for editing or maybe there is no face to extrude. If you share the .skp file with us we can tell you quickly just what the problem is.

Nathalie’s floorplan.skp (144.8 KB)

Here it is, thanks so much for your help

So you’ve got a component as shown selected (I moved it down to separate it from the rest of the geometry and I selected the window and door swing components and moved them up.

In order to extrude the walls you need to open the floor plan component for editing. I would suggest erasing the face for the floor first so you get the correct geometry for the walls.

Thank you so much, appreciate it!!!

1 Like

Hi there. I have an issue too.For hours I’ve tried to be able to highlight ground plain. I cannot for the life of me work it out. Is there any chance I can upload the file for a hand with this.

Yes. You can share the file so we can look.

Ive only got free version. Can I still share a sip.I can’t seem to work out how

Click on the “hamburger” menu button in the top left corner of the SketchUp screen and choose Download. Then upload the file from your computer to here.

HI Dave.
Thanks, here we go.Western Side-2.skp (1.9 MB)

I’ve got your file open. I see plenty of issues with the model but what exactly is the problem you are having?

Hi Dave, Appologies about delay, we must be in different time zones.