Possible layer problem while trying to use push/pull tool

I am new to SU and self learning thru online tutorials and such at the moment. My problem is is that I am drawing an outline of a floor plan. I did, explode, make group etc. and I do have x-ray turned on and resized all that good stuff. I’ve ran into this problem several times where when I go to do push/pull up the walls and such where I get either the circle with the / thru it or in this current case I can pull up the walls but there are parts that appear to be starting at a different place. I am going to try to post a gayzo link here so better show/explain what I am talking about. https://gyazo.com/b28978285567e37ecfdfcd7e0253e5e3 My dilemma is… as far as i can tell, there are no created extra layers all that is in the layers is layer 0. As you may be able to tell, the poles on the left start at the base of what is going to be a porch and the one on the right is another porch pole, but that one starts further down? What am I doing wrong or how am I able to fix this?

It would be a lot easier to diagnose the issues if you can provide the skp file rather than an image.

Floor plan1- ground level.skp (127.2 KB)

I see Z-fighting because you’ve got a rectangle drawn over the group comtaining the image. That creates a flickering effect as you orbit and zoom.

The walls and the columns extrude fine and I don’t see any weirdness. All the faces are reversed because of the large face on which you drew the lines for the walls. If you deleted the faces where the floors are, the face orientation would then be correct.

The model you uploaded is not in the same state as the image you posted earlier (nothing has been pushpulled yet). As @DaveR’s examples show (and my experience was the same) there is no inherent problem with the model aside from the z-fighting, which is distracting but doesn’t impact what you are trying to do.