Cannot Load Component

Hi all…
I have been using Sketchup Pro for a couple of years, a casual user only, I usually enjoy using it but this week it is giving me some grief.

It refuses to load a ‘component’ into my model.
I downloaded some Pallets from the 3D warehouse (directly into model), they went into the ‘components’ library… but will not load into the model. [NB: Components that I created work fine and do load into the model]

I download other pallets to a folder on my PC, then imported them, and the same thing happened. They appear in the ‘Components’ library, but will not load into the model.

Help welcome…
See video thanks…

Can you share the pallet component along with your building model file?

Thanks Dave

Here is one of the pallets:
Pallet.skp (168.9 KB)

What size is the house you are drawing? Could it be that it is so small that the 2 inches between the pallet and pallet’s origin (the point you place when clicking the model) make the pallet end up outside of the screen?

2 Likes

Brilliant Ms Eneroth…

The pallet was a microscopic dot…

It seems my units were in meters… (not sure how that happened but will sort it out)
SOLVED

Big smile - Thanks
Ian

1 Like

I wondered if that was the case. I wasn’t sure if it was your modeling or the author of the component.

I remember similar missing component issues. Does SketchUp Pro have any way of identifying a particular component in a model? Such as by highlighting it with color.

If you know its name, you can filter it in the outliner panel, select it and with rightclick, choose ‘Zoom Selection’

Thanks.

Except the component wasn’t missing in this case. The OP’s model was drawn at a much larger scale than the downloaded component. It wasn’t missing; just too small to see.

Yes - only apparently missing.

Using the outliner panel is ok, but a bit slow - may be difficult if looking for a nested component.

I may suggest a feature request for an “identify component location” function from the component panel.