Can’t open file - SketchUp immediately crashes

I’m having an issue opening a file I’ve been working on, on the desktop version of SketchUp pro 2020. When I open SketchUp and select the file, SketchUp immediately crashes and closes down. I can open other files so it must be an issue with this particular file. I’ve also tried opening the file on the web version but no luck here either. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. I’m quite new to SketchUp pro but I’ve been working on this file for a week with a deadline coming up on Friday, I’m desperate to access it.

I sometimes get this kind of thing happening and I am also on a Mac. It seems to be more common on that platform.

If you can upload the file, you may well find that a PC user can open it just fine. How much use that is to you, I’m not sure, but it might be.

Do you have a Time Machine backup? Go back to a version of the file that was working. Losing the most recent changes is better than losing the whole file.

If you post your file someone might be able to open it, but it might just be corrupted.

I’m not actually sure how to restore an earlier version? I can’t see an option anywhere.

I would love to try this but unfortunately I don’t own or have access to a PC.

Apartment.skp (1.9 MB)

Hi McGordon, I have attached the file (hopefully correctly). Is there a reason it would become corrupted suddenly? I was working on it fine one minute, and the next minute it just crashed, never to be opened again!

This is assuming you actually have a Time Machine backup. Open the folder containing your file in the Finder, then click on the time machine icon in the menu bar. If the icon isn’t there, open System Preference → Time machine and tick the option “Show Time Machine in Menu Bar”. Then click the icon in the menu bar and choose “Enter Time Machine”.