Window in 45 deg wall help

I’m trying to build my house as it sits today so that I can play around with doing some remodeling. I’m just starting out, but know some basics. I have floor done, walls and started knocking holes for doors and windows. I’m stuck on a bay window or alcove. On one side of my house a portion sits out with 2 45 deg walls with windows in them. I have done all the same steps for a normal wall, but when I use the push/pull tool it doesn’t work. It makes a box sticking out the other side.

I have tried drawing lines over and over making sure all connection are there. I tried drawing the window in and deleting surfaces and no luck. So I’m not sure what I’m doing wrong or how to handle it.

Any tips or suggestions?

Thanks

could you post the model, its possible the wall @ 45 degrees is not parallel

up load here

Ah I didn’t think I could being new, but hopefully this worked. I put in a couple windows that aren’t exact, but just to get the idea across on what I’m trying to do. test model home.skp (202.6 KB)

The walls are a bit out of parallel.

Shep

Ah I see. I’m not that good at using the protractor. I watched a few vids but still a little confusing. I will try it again. Hopefully once I get them parallel it will work. I will report back once I can.

Thanks

Here’s an easy way to lay out a floorplan keeping the walls parallel.

-Gully

I’d also recommend maxing the precision in window>model info>units. Keep an eye out for ~ in the measurement window too. This means you don’t have exactly 60° for example.

Here’s the model with the bay straightened out a bit.
test model home ss.skp (125.7 KB)

Shep