Why is my file size so big?

Hello All!

I’m new to sketchup! Created my first model, however, it’s super slow to drag and play with it. I keep getting not responding frequently. First Question: How can I make a component only appear high textured in vray but not really as detailed as it is in Sketchup Model. Second Question: How do I check what uses how many megabytes. This is driving me crazy, can someone please help. My current model is 160 MB and it almost has nothing inside, I have 2 people and a car with a house that I modelled.

Hello
For your first question, make proxies out of your components, there’s a dedicated button on vray toolbar. Check out for tutorials
For the second question, everytime you load a component in your model, from 3d warehouse or any other source, even after deleting it will remain in your file unless you purge it.
Go to Window > model info> statistics > purge unused.
It will also purge unused materials
As for the frequently not responding, it probably is every 5 minutes, which is the default autosave settings. The bigger your file is, the longer you will feel SketchUp isn’t responding every 5 minutes. You can set a longer interval if you dont manage to ligthen your file enough

Thanks a lot Paul! Please bear with me here. So creating proxy is like creating a dummy inside the model as a place holder right? Thanks, I purged unused and got 360 mb to 160mb. The not responding almost occurs in each click I do. I have an RTX 3070, GPU utilization keeps 0 percent when I don’t really move the model or do anything is that normal?

Regards.