Why is Layout (2020) not updating its view of my SU model?

I’ve created two viewports on two separate pages in Layout. I’m quite new to using Layout, having only used it a couple of times for simple things in the past.

Each shows a plan view of my model, on two A4 Portrait pages, which I intend to glue together to get approximately an A3 view of the two halves of the plan.

I updated the text in the lower half of the model (as you look at it on screen)

to flip it along Red axis (L-R) to read correctly upside down from right to left, like this:
then saved the model.

Layout is viewing the Plan - version 2 scene from SU. I’ve tried (in this order):

• clicking on the Refresh icon image in the Sketchup Model part of the Layout properties section.
  • clicking Update in the Document Properties/References section, with the reference selected
  • and even tried removing the link then Relinking to the model.

But the Layout file is still showing the previous version with the text mirrored upside down from the top half of the model, and mirrored L-R:

The text stays stubbornly mirror imaged instead of rotated 180°.

I don’t understand why. I have not edited the model inside the viewport, and it is not showing as Modified.

Layout model attached (I believe it includes the SU model):
Five Kinds of Silence - set.layout (4.9 MB)

Is it relevant that the SU model was saved back to v2016 so that others for whom that is the latest version their computer will run can view it?

Shouldn’t it still update in Layout when the SU file is edited and saved, and I click Refresh or Update?