What's your favorite way to create doors and windows?

Hi there,

I am very new to SketchUp and am finding trouble determining the best way to make doors and windows. I am used to Revit’s components that allow you to preset location, size, type, etc. Many videos I have seen for SketchUp indicate cutting wall openings and building the whole window/door but frankly, that seems to be quite time consuming. My model is attached with guides indicating the placement of 3 windows. These are just rough guidelines as I’m sure the measurements might be weird in relation to any components out there to use.
Malvern Studio Apartment 2.skp (140.4 KB)

for quick and dirty - i just cut the openings and use the Windows Tool and Door Tools to create the frame, jambs, doors, windows, mullions, etc etc. when i need precision or detailed drawing ready, i use my own components or manufacturer supplied components if specifying a commercial product.

I usually model doors and windows for each project based on the proposed (or likely) system, add trim and casing so that the overall style is reflected in door and window components so these can be duplicated around the building. Often they are not applicable to the next project having different units and finishes – so not a “universal” method. Sometimes mid-project I will be changing all the window styles. I try to design components so that these can be updated at once in the model where multiple units are repeated (Clearly this can often require checking each istance for realignment for dimensional changes etc.).

You might find this sort of approach time consuming if you compare to a parametric approach like Revit. For that you may wish to go toward something like Medeek Wall plugins. And there are other plugins, not so much BIM-like that do a lot for you like Flex Tools.

What and where is the ‘Windows Tool and Doors Tool’, you mention?