What is with the excessive CLIPPING?

I’m now spending 200/year on this product and it’s worse than it ever was as a standalone license.

When does scene clipping occur? I don’t know. Too many objects? I shouldn’t have detailed the angle iron with all those punch holes? Well, tell us, SU gurus. Don’t let’s keep profound issues a hidden object.

I’m working on a Mac Pro 2013 under High Sierra, with 32 GB RAM and two- count 'em, TWO Radeon G500 GPU’s with 3MB cache each. It’s a six core 3.5 GZhz machine. I’m a film editor. This machine runs two streams of 4K ProRes 422 (HQ) without a gasp. Sketchup 2020 ought to be going like a bat out of hell on this setup.

In many drawings, whenever I try to zoom in on a detail, it either pops completely out of view, or worse- the clipping begins. This malady is usually cured by a quick click onZ oom Extents-- BUT NOT EVERY 20 SECONDS. Come on, folks!

Object limit? Memory leak? What is it?’

Otherwise, I love SU and have since V 4.0. And the people I meet who teach and train this product are also great assets.

Feedback welcome.

Best, as always,
Loren

1 Like

Colin has replied to this under the RichardRogersNew thread “GL Clipping.” I have no idea what GL is, but I guess “Good Lord- Clipping!”

Colin’s reply included the info that this is prevalent in V 2020.1, and ended with this thought-

It’s the kind of thing you would hope we will fix soon.

Spot on!

Best, as always,
Loren

Could you attach a model in which you are experiencing clipping.

Aside from what I said about there being a 2020.1 thing that makes clipping worse, today someone posted a file that had a geo location set, and that caused more clipping, even in other versions of SketchUp. I’m going to try different locations, to see if it’s having any location that matters, or if certain locations are worse.

Hi, Box-

Could you attach a model in which you are experiencing clipping.