Zoom clipping & location

Hi, I’m a hobbyist and created a model of a home. I’m having trouble getting rid of the zoom clipping, where objects in the foreground are not shown.

In particular, I like to add a few scenes looking out of a window, and when I get within 1-2 meter of the window, the window already disappears.

Now, this already seems like a difficult scene, as I want a relative high field of view (seeing the surrounding area when looking out of the window), ideally 60 degrees, but 40 degrees is acceptable.

Strangely, I got a good scene the other day, and despite that I have a screenshot with the scene that I liked, I can’t reproduce it anymore. It seems that the camera clipping is already happening at 2 meter distance instead of 1 meter distance.

What was changed is that I moved my model, as I found that my previous geo-location was somehow off by a few hundred meters. Also, I added more of the surrounding area, increasing the size (length x width) of my model.

Is there a way to change or disable the zoom clipping?

If not, could someone explain why a change of a location influence the camera clipping plane? On Clipping and missing faces | SketchUp Help, one of the suggestions is to move the model closer to the origin. What I did is move the origin of the top-level in the hierarchy, but this did not work.

Are there any other suggestions how to deal with the camera clipping plane? Is there a explanation when exactly this clipping happens, and at what distance? I assumed that it would only depend on the FOV, but given the suggestions at the above help-article, it seems that other factors, like the size of the model also are in play.

Thanks for investigating so much on your own! It’s likely that you have the camera set to Parallel Projection. Try using Perspective instead, then there should be no clipping.

Thanks Colin.

I used the Perspective Projection already (using a Parallel Project when inside a building is hard in my experience).