Clipping Hellhole

Hello! I’m a complete amateur when it comes to sketchup and only use it to do fairly simple interior projects. But i’m having a lot of problems with clipping and things disappearing when I zoom in . This was supposed to be finished by today but it’s impossible to work with, I’ve tried everything googlable, please help me

• SketchUp Help: Clipping and missing faces

There are lots of posts here about the clipping issue.
Try switching to and fro between cameras in perspective and parallel-projection.
This can at least temporarily resolve clipping-plane issues.

Causes of clipping can include geometry miles from the model’s origin [toggle View > Axes on/off to check where it is] - this can occur when importing CAD files where their geometry is placed in world coordinates.
Also very large geometry can lead to this - but interior projects are unlikely to have this.

Also learn to put your geometry in groups/components and assign layers to them so you can switch their visibility on/off, in case things are simply getting in the way of the camera position.

Also check your Graphics Card driver is up to date, and after a restart look at its settings under Preferences > OpenGL - e.g. switching off fast-feedback might help you…

2 Likes

When you check your graphics card driver go directly to the Intel site. Windoze does not always provide the latest driver. Also the Intel graphics are lacking when running SU.

Clipping issues when zooming into tiny geometry? We’ve all been there.
Clipping

Simple fix. Just adjust the field of view!
FOV%20Fix

3 Likes

A lot of issues occur when the origin point (invisible XYZ axis) of a component or group is sitting far away from the actual geometry.
We used to see this a lot with Google Earth componets from the 3D warehouse, where you would see a small item like a flower be imported, but it will come in with a very large aerial photo image (or an empty group where the image used to be).