Vray and Layout glitching and slow

Hi All,

I’ve been working on a file recently who’s size got really out of control because of the textures. I do want to use high quality textures, but I also want to be able to use my computer without it crashing constantly. Does anyone have a system they use? The best thing I can think of right now is making all of the textures I want a certain colour (wood brown, tile blue, stone grey, etc) and then replacing the textures when I go to render. This is not ideal, because I like to render as I go to see if the design is looking good (I’m an interior designer), but it’s all I can think of right now. Thoughts?

Yes I regularly use large maps. My SU files are sometimes nearly 1GB. It’s usually mostly textures. I’ve rationalised most of them down to 2k but still need some 4K maps. Sounds basic but using .jpg maps rather than png makes a lot of difference.
TBH i don’t notice any real performance impact. The biggest impact are profiles etc.
It’s always good to stay on top of the Purge command from the model info > statistics to get rid of unwanted and unused maps, this can sometimes remove hundreds of Mb from the project file.
I’m on a hackintosh with a 1080Ti card so plenty of VRAM, which obvs makes a huge difference and 64gb of main memory - that’s where I notice the hit. I have to constantly manage the memory and clear it out and was considering going to 128gb.
Vray until v5 doesn’t do out of core memory on gpu renders so if you were GPU rendering you would be limited by the VRAM on the card. This can quickly get eaten up if you have displacement or fur as the geometry is compiled and loaded into video memory at render time and the render job, well, just won’t render.