Using line tool or rectangle tool to create surfaces to push/pull

Hi Sketchuppers,

I’m pretty new to the software and trying to figure out when or if it’s better to get in the habit of using rectangle or line tools to create rectangular surfaces to push/pull.

I’m specifically thinking of creating dados inside a bookcase to receive shelves.

I did it recently by drawing three enclosed lines on the long face of the side panel component and pushing the resulting surface to the back rear edge and it worked fine. Is it “better” and quicker to just draw a rectangle on side face and push this through?

I guess the same question could apply to creating a doorway opening in walls with thickness. Doesn’t drawing a square create an extra “overlapping” line so to speak on the larger outer rectangle? I learned through tutorials early on that drawing lines on top on lines a no-no and create extraneous geometry?

It’s a newbie question, but I’d like to get it straight, as I’d like to try some more 3D printing in future and want to avoid creating non-solid entities.

I can probably post an example file if my explanation is not clear enough.

Thanks!

The answer goes “it depends…”. I think best for you would be to go through some of the free courses on using SketchUp available at learn.sketchup.com and also videos at the SketchUp YouTube channel.

2 Likes

As @Anssi said, it depends. Sometimes the Line tool is a good choice, sometimes the rectangle tool. Sometimes I find it easiest to copy existing edges or use Offset, especially if I want to do something like put rabbets on all four edges of a panel.And sometimes the easiest thing to do is model the object that will fit into the dado or rabbet and use it to cut said dado or rabbet. Actually that’s most often my go to method because I don’t have to layout the joint at all that way. Also tenons cut mortises, tails cut pins, biscuits cut biscuit slots, etc.