General novice Sketch up queries

Hello everybody,
As I 've said already I am new to Sketch up. I really like it, but often I get awfully stuck, and I still haven’t understood how exactly some things work. Consequently I have to ask some questions that might sound quite dumb, but nevertheless some advice from an expert user might help me out a lot. So, here we go:

1. I find it difficult to switch from one plane to the other. E.g, often I drew a rectangle on the xy plane, and then it was difficult to go the xz plane to do the same.
  2. I 've often offset edges trying to create a similar edge a bit further from the initial one, in order to pull the space between them and make a volume. (I recently tried this to model a quoin in a window). The second edge that I get is drawn with a thick line, and the push/pull command doesn’t work. Sometimes things work, sometimes they don’t. What 's that you have to do to make sure that you 'll be able to use the push/pull command?
    If somebody could answer these two questions (for a start) I 'd really appreciate it.
    Many thanks in advance!

Hello! About drawing rectangles on different planes, look at this GIF. You have to orbit around a bit to draw on a different plane. Experiment with drawing rectangles and changing the orbit and you’ll get the hang of it. It’s easy.

About the 2nd question, I didn’t quite understand what you wanted to do. Can you explain further? If you want to draw a flat surface and Push/Pull it, you can use the Rectangle Tool again.

It’s difficult to know exactly what you have done. If I were creating a window quoin as a solid, I would probably start with a rectangle in the XY plane representing the footprint of the wall. I would then use the Push/Pull tool to extrude that footprint upwards.