Trying to understand the best way to draw things

Hello, I am very new to Sketchup, like 2 hours new. I have been playing around with the program and watching some of the getting started tutorials on youtube and it seems like the general idea is your supposed to start with an object and shave parts off of it rather than add rectangles. I would much rather add blocks but I didn’t have much luck getting the program to do what I wanted to. I realize i have been rather vague here, but is there a way to add blocks rather than subtract from a larger object?

I am trying to learn to use the program by replicating a piece of furniture. I then want to redesign that piece of furniture and build it from the prints I made.

Thanks for any insights you can provide.
Alex

@Spacemanspiff

Welcome to Sketchup! There are many ways to do almost anything in Sketchup. My recommendation is that if you want to add geometry (which I do almost exclusively), start with the line tool.

For example, if you have a square drawn, and push/pull it into a cube, then want to add a rectangle, use the line tool to place the shape and size of the rectangle on the face of the cube that you wish to add to.

At that point, push/pull tool may be an option, or you can manually use the line tool to build out the rectangle. If done correctly, the faces should fill in when complete. Then you can select the model, right click and intersect with model. In the pro version, you.can combine objects with the add/subtract tool set.

There are many ways to accomplish what you need. If necessary, I will be happy to post screen shots later this evening.

Hope this helps.
~Drewlol