Correct approach to drawing

Hello,

I’ve got a bit of a problem here.

So I’m still new to SketchUp and have had some good and bad days.

On NYE, I was practising for work and could understand and see the importance of making 3D objects a component.

Now: I believe I am either missing or confusing steps.

All I am seeking is advice on when to make geometry a component to draw on & if it’s safe to draw on a component (editing a components face to draw upon) to repeat the process of building a sofa.

My aim for the file provided is to create a sofa to be rounded. - I know how to round as I have to use the rounded corner plug-in tool, which I am accustomed to now.

The problem is that I would somehow edit my component and have to either remove lines, add lines, or delete faces, which would then showcase floating lines of removed geometry.

For example: when you draw first i.e a rectangle shape and you want to section this rectangle to be something else i.e the back of a sofa or the arm of a sofa etc. - at what point do you make it a component?

Is it a bad approach to draw within a component so that this new form of geometry that is being drawn and built on, becomes another new object?

and another thing:

I believe that I have made some 2D geometry a component first before drawing anything else and still along the way of manipulating the geometry, that a line or face is not a component or the component changes along the way. - can that happen?

Also, please never mind about the hidden stuff. Please just focus on the semi- curved model.

Thanks.

CARWOOD SOFA.skp - WAT THE HEck did I do here[6329].skp (439.6 KB)

A few questions first. Are you trying to create a Dynamic Component or is this a general modeling question? I asked because you’ve posted in the dynamic component category.