Using Layout to create an elevations drawing - a few "WTF's?"

First off, I don’t have to use it very often (once a year?) so I’m no expert. Having set out to make a video with iMovie once long ago and managing it within a few hours even with a backing soundtrack synced to clips and movement, this programme seems to me to be about as far from intuitive as you can get. That said, I eventually figured out how to create a drawing last year by creating a initial template drawing from one parallel proj’ view in SketchUp then sending the other 3 views after, first to their own template, then copying those and pasting into the intial template drawing. It might not have been the best way to do it but it worked.
I tried to work this way today and instead of pasting in the first additional copied view, it would paste a copy of the initial view… First “WTF?”
Some time later, having tried a number of times to paste in the view, it decided instead that it wanted to copy the text of the scale I had selected in the ‘SketchUp Model’ dialogue box!!!.. Yup, it pasted “3/16” = 1’-0" (1:64)"… Second “WTF?”
Finally, I looked for a tutorial on creating elevation drawings and discovered that TheSketchUpEssentials fella showed how to copy multiple viewports from the initial drawing then selected scenes from a right-clicked drop-down menu. So I created a bunch of scenes, created multiple viewports then went to select a different scene = no option other than ‘Last saved sketchUp view’ which was checked. “WTF?” #3
By chance I noticed that, just above ‘Scenes’ there was an option ‘Standard Views’ so I tried selecting a couple and lo and behold, the different views of the model! Awesome… 20 minutes later I had a drawing with direction labels, windows greyed out and a block of black where the ground is.