Upon startup of Sketchup 2017, window opens but message "Not responding"

My problem seems about the same or similar as a few others, giving a fair bit of frustration.
I am new to blogs, new to forum, and new to SketchUp, trying to evaluate if to purchase pro 2017 or NOT???
I have read a few of the posts I thought were close to my needs but they did’t seem to give the answers I need.
I have down loaded SketchUp 2017 make version with the 30 day trial of the pro version, all goes good with the “right click and install as administrator”, I open it choose template and of I go, HAD A BALL playing with my new toy, did some tutorials etc. Closed program down after saving my drawings.
But when it comes to opening the program again, this is where problems begin, it opens the SketchUp window with the tool bars in place but no red blue green crossy thing and when I click any where on the window to try and open something or just in open space in window I get the “Program not responding” at the top left of window. The only thing I can do from there is close it down, with a choice of “wait for program to respond” or “close down now” (and waiting does not work , I tried)

I have used the “SketchUp Check System” and my system comes up all good to use with all green lights.
I have an Intel(R) Core™ i7-6700HQ @ 2.60GHz 8.0GB RAM 64bit window 10 home Nividia GTX970M that my system tells me is openGL

So all should be good I think. The one thing that does work is to reinstall the SketchUp exe. and use the repair install, then I can use it just fine again until I close down and try and restart program next time. And it all starts again.

Cheers for any help to sort this issue

PS Layout and Style Builder that come with the pro 30 day trial ( I’m guessing) open and I can click things in them as they do stuff but I don’t know what to do and how to use them,so I can’t say they work properly LOL.

Very odd.
Try holding down shift as you launch the program.