Unable to work with a selected set of entities

I’m new to sketchup so forgive me if this is a really basic user error, but I’ve spent about an hour searching without finding another thread that answers this particular problem. I can’t seem to get the selection tool “box” to work properly. Here are some examples of what’s happening (or not happening):

1. Highlight set of entities within the selection tool “box” by dragging upper left to lower right.
  2. Press “delete” button.
  3. Selection set no longer highlighted, entities not deleted.

Also:

1. Highlight set of entities crossed by the selection tool “box” by dragging lower right to upper left.
  2. Press “delete” button.
  3. Only one entity within the selection set is deleted.

Also:

1. Highlight set of entities with the selection tool “box” by dragging either way.
  2. Click “Edit” drop down menu.
  3. “Make Group” and “Make Component” are not available (those buttons are shaded or “off”).

Also:

1. Highlight set of entities with the selection tool “box” by dragging either way.
  2. Click various tools (e.g. Scale, Move, etc.)
  3. Click within the work area or on the selection set (either way) to use the tool.
  4. Selection set no longer highlighted, tool command not available.

Hopefully these examples will be enough for someone to diagnose the problem, whether it’s with the software, or with me.

Thank you.

Are you letting go of the mouse button after making your selection and before erasing or trying to make a component?

If so, it might be a problem with your graphics card driver.

See if you can update the drivers. You’ve quoted dll file names, not the graphics card name, bit it looks like Intel. If it is old, it may not support OpenGL 3.0 at all, which SU 2017 requires. If it does, often only the latest drivers provide good enough support for it.

Search this forum for ‘Intel graphics driver’ to find out more, and for ‘how to find your graphics card details’.