Unable to fill shape

Hi,
Im fairly new to sketch up and im having trouble filling this shape in to make it a solid object.
How can i go about doing this?
Thanks!

Hi Joe,

SketchUp automatically creates a Face when Edges you draw meet certain requirements.
Primarily, the edges must be coplanar and form a closed loop.
By definition a triangle satisfies those requirements.
One simply uses the Line tool to “stitch” together a mesh of triangular faces, aka triangulation.

-Geo

1 Like

Hi Joe, You can also use a plug in called soap skin and bubble.

Phil

Cool plug-in…FREE!! and easy to get working with it, very handy for gas tanks for customizing motorcycles and if your want to design car rims-wheels with unique spokes or center hubs.

Thanks for the responses guys! but unfortunately none of these are working for me?!
Im sorry im probably doing something wrong but ive enclosed my copy.
If you could take a quick look at it that would be great!
Thanks in advance!

Im sorry! this should work

Design.skp (22.5 KB)

Hi , Your link does not seem to work ?

Phil

Hi @Geo please excuse me jumping into this thread, but I think the OP is referring to the same mega-rookie problem I’m grappling with. To whit: picking up on your description: “SketchUp automatically creates a Face when Edges you draw meet certain requirements.
Primarily, the edges must be coplanar and form a closed loop.” So far so good, but what if I accidentally delete the Face? Is there a simple way to recreate the face?

Oui, Monsieur Hot Dog.

Simply retrace one of the bounding edges with the line tool and the face is recreated.

SketchUp Video Tutorials — Bookmark Worthy

-Geo

1 Like

Hi Joe,

You made the initial geometry a Group.
Then you added an arc outside the Group.
And then you made the existing Group and the arc into another Group.
Thus you have created a Group that is “nested” inside another Group.