Unable to download models using Sketchup 2017

I’m new to Sketchup and new to this forum. I’m having difficulty downloading models from the 3-D warehouse. When I click to download a model, nothing happens. Any advice?

The 3D Warehouse doesn’t support SketchUp 2017. You can search via the Components panel instead of the 3D Warehouse panel and get some components. The primary way to get content from the 3D Warehouse for SU2017 will be to go to the Warehouse in your internet browser, download the Collada file and import the included .dae file into your SketchUp file.

Thank you. My guess it it will be easier to use the current online version of Sketchup. I don’t always have access to the internet. That’s why I’ve been using 2017 …

The online wersion is supported by the 3D Warehouse so it will be easier to use it.

What are you modeling? Maybe it would make more sense to make your own components.

I just now signed in and very easily downloaded a model I’m interested in. I’m laying out a woodworking shop in my garage. I’ve made a rough layout in PPT but it’s very clear that Sketchup will be far better. It’s a lot more fun to use too …

1 Like

Yeah. For that sort of thing Sketchup will be more fun for sure. Also keep in mind that you can add infeed and outfeed zone for machines like tablesaw, jointer, planer, router table, and bandsaw so you can make sure to avoid conflicts.

Although you can get some very detailed components for woodworking machines, keep in mind that detail can overload a model quickly. Especially in your well-equipped shop. Look at the components you add and consider details they might have that doesn’t add anything to your layout process. Even things like manufacturer’s labels aren’t really needed when you do the layout.