Trying to create shapes with smooth "hills and valleys" in Sketchup 2015

Again, I apologize if I am posting this question in the wrong place. I’m a noob here.

I am working on a model of a Manta Ray but I am having a hard time figuring out how to create the smooth, rounded “hills and valleys”, if you will, that make up the shape. I cant seem to find tutorials that cover this exact topic. Is there any help, suggestions, you can offer me?

You can try to install the extension “Soap Skin and Bubble”
[[Extension | SketchUp Extension Warehouse]]

Thanks for the reply. I assume you’ve used it. What sort of thing will it do?

It will make “smooth” surfaces (a tessalated surface of many polygons) from a 3D outline:

SoapSkinExample.skp (194.3 KB)
You can changes the “tension” and some other features with this extension too - lots of physics and math here!

Thank you for your help.

Before jumping into extensions, it is worthwhile learning to use SketchUp’s native tools. How about an image of where you are stuck at the moment?

2 Likes

Jim is right, start with learning SketchUp’s native tools. Avoid using plugins for a while, at least till you know the basics of the program.

[quote=“lenlenlen1, post:1, topic:5553, full:true”]
Again, I apologize if I am posting this question in the wrong place. I’m a noob here.
I cant seem to find tutorials that cover this exact topic. Is there any help, suggestions, you can offer me?[/quote]
One other thing, looking at the quote and the topic you started…, others will be able to find your “Question #2” (whatever that might be) but is that relevant as a title? Please ask specific questions with a title that covers your question. You’ll also get better answers that way.

And you can (and should!) edit the title of your own questions. When you are logged in you can see an edit icon next to the title. Then the answer to your question will not only be helpful to you but to all future readers.

1 Like