Total Noob trying to figure it out

Hey all, Total Sketchup Noob here. I’m working on my very first Sketchup project after doing the first four tutorials. I’ve uploaded a file so you can see it if you like. office - right shelving.skp (63.6 KB) I’m still making adjustments to it, but I’m happy with how it’s coming along. Also trying to figure out how to tell Cut List 4.1.12 that the material I’m using is MDF or plywood so that it will know it’s a sheet product. Pardon me for anything I haven’t said right. :slight_smile: I’ve only been woodworking for about 7 months now. Any feedback is appreciated. Thanks!

This is a two-step process. First, you must paint the appropriate objects with a material that you give a name such as “plywood” or “MDF”. Then you must make sure that CutList includes that name in the list of Sheet Material Words in its UI. The extension actually does a pattern match, so it will find the words in its list even if they are part of a material name. For instance, “oak plywood” and “birch plywood” will both be caught if the list contains just “plywood”.

That was a great answer! Thanks!

Ok guys… Here is the updated look at it. If you look closely you can see the guides I’ve made for the tambour door. Trouble is, I have no idea how to create a tambour door in SketchUp. I also didn’t bother making “holes” where the adjustable shelves will be. I’ll make those on the fly.

So, I think I’m done with this. I think it’s ready to print out and get to work… Now I’m hoping that all of my work will be rewarded… Is there a way to print out an exploded view with all the dimensions called out so I know what I have to dado and trim, etc? After all, isn’t that one of the reasons for doing it this way?

This is my very first SketchUp drawing and I like it, but I’m really open to any feedback you guys might have on how I could have made it better. Thanks in advance for any help!

office - right shelving v2.0.skp (220.2 KB)