Tool window management MacOS SketchUp 2023

Hey All! New to the community. I have been using SketchUp since about 2013 for casual things and in the last couple of years have gone to pro subscription and am using it more and more professionally. I am a custom carpentry and remodeling contractor and I largely use it for communicating with clients, working out complex detailing, and sometimes for materials takeoffs.

I recently made the switch to Mac, and updated to version 2023 about the same time. I am having a bear of a time with window management. The bank of windows containing components, entity info, etc. I switch fairly regularly between a monitor and the laptop screen, and it seems like every time my window layout changes. I end up with some windows on the laptop screen and some on the monitor, and I end up having to rebuild my bank of windows almost every time I open a project. It’s very frustrating to have to rebuild your workspace every time. I have searched this issue and so far, whether due to the OS change or due to the update to 2023, anything I’m seeing about window management seems to not apply to what I am working with. I’d greatly appreciate some advice on setting up my workspace and keeping it the same way. TIA!

there is a funny thing with mac os.

when you have a window partially outside of the screen, there is a risk mac os reopens it later on a different screen.

here for example, the sandbox might open on my other screen next time. same for the tags panel.

Capture d’écran 2023-05-14 à 02.22.14
and as a proof, I quit, then reopen, and voilĂ , the tag panel is on my other screen (sandbox remained)

This is a standard macos behaviour, for years now. the problem in SU is that all the panels are actually tiny windows, and work as such. the os seems to think it’s helping you, “hey, looks like you needed more space, I put all that junk next door”

Capture d’écran 2023-05-14 à 02.25.22