Texture curved surface, has something changed in 2023?

Hello

I could not find any post about this topic, so here we go.

In past versions of sketchup, we could paint a curved surface like described in this video (note the timestamp): https://youtu.be/J_inpiCqdkk?t=331

But that seems not to be working anymore. If I apply the texture to a single face, and chose the origin point of the texture.

I then “sample paint” the texture, and paint the rest of the faces like in the video, and it ends up like this:

I have been painting curved surfaces like that for several years now, without this issue, so I am guessing something has changed in version 2023?

I can still paint a curved surface, by not showing hidden geometry, and then apply the texture to the hole curved face at once. The texture is applied seamless. But the problem is here, that I did not chose where the texture origin point was, and that is very important for my use cases.

Does anyone know anything about this? Is it a bug in this version? Can you do this in your version without above issue? Any help is highly appreciated, thanks!

2 Likes

Yes I can confirm it behaves differently in 2023.

I don’t know of any changes in 2023 that would account for this, and I can get the same strange behavior in 2021 and 2022.

While looking into this I did find a way to paint a cylinder without needing to use hidden geometry. It works in 2023 as well as earlier versions.

Rough steps are:

1. Make a vertical rectangle that is as wide as the diameter of the final cylinder.
  2. Scale the width of the rectangle to 3.1415926.
  3. Import as Texture the image. Place it onto the rectangle so that it starts in the bottom left corner, and exactly fits the width.
  4. Adjust the top edge of the rectangle until it just crops the top of the image.
  5. You could right-click, Make Unique Texture at this point, so that the material matches the geometry.