Spheres - can't make 'em

(See below in this thread for a summary of “findings” from this post)

I’ve read all kinds of things on making spheres and watched about 6 videos. There are a few different approaches, but basically the same. I cannot get a sphere consistently. I’ve detailed my frustrations in the attached pdf and really hope someone can help me out.

I’m new to Sketchup and using PRO … still in my 30 days

Thanks in advance …
Thom aka duck9000 (distant relative of HAL9000)

HelpMeMakeAsphere.pdf (206.1 KB)
sphere.skp (294.2 KB)
sphere2.skp (291.8 KB)
free. I’d just use Place Shapes Tool bar, but the sides are too few for my needs (spheres are too angular).

Well, you are running into the tiny faces thing. SketchUp won’t create very tiny faces. Either reduce the number of sides on your circles or work at a much larger size. 180 is kind of ridiculous for no larger than your circles are. The Dave Method can be useful for this, too.

dave

1 Like

Dave, thanks for the quick response. I really appreciate the explanation. (Give a person a fish, the eat for a day … teach them to fish …)

One file I’m using 180 (sphere.skp), the other 75 (sphere2.skp).

I reduced sides to 50 and got the wholes at top and bottom small enough they will not show in the object I’m building. Still, it’s kinda rough.

I’m not really following the component process in your gif, but I’ll take a look and see if I can figure it out.

Thanks again.

duck9000

I would suggest some multiple of 12. It’s divisible by 2, 3, 4, and 6.

whatever you do when you edit a component gets done to any other instances of the component in the model. I’m just leveraging that with the “Dave Method”.

How are you planning to use this tiny sphere once you’ve modeled it?

They’re heads on a 1" scale model.

Would it work better if I built these in full size and then scaled them down in my scene?

(Had posted an image, but decided I needed to delete it due to client confidentiality.)