SketchUp to LayOut issue

Hi,
I wanted to add Sketchup model to layout, but when I click insert the models I wanted to use (example: some are on top on the list) are in grey and I can not choose them.

I would be greatful for your help.
And sorry if its basic I am new to Sketchup and Layout.

Thanks
Marika

Open the SketchUp model in SketchUp Pro, choose File>Send to Layout.

You should check out the Essentials course or the LayOut essentials course on learn.sketchup.com.

1 Like

I made some changes to the post title and category.

1 Like

H Kaidenh,
Thank you for your reply. I will def go back and check essentials course.
Btw, I tried what you suggested.
I opened Sketchup doc. and chose option ’ send to layout’ which is in grey so it doesn’t let me do it. I used that couple of months ago and didn’t have similar issue before.
I tried 2 different Sketchup documents, and in all that option was in grey :frowning:

1 Like

That’s very strange. I’ll leave this one to the LO experts :wink:

Oh wait! Try saving, then immediately press send to LO.
:joy: :joy:

You mean, ‘save’ and then try to send to layout?

Didn’t work :{
Anyone help …
I am drowning

1 Like

Yeah I did…

I hope someone else can help you. I’m not great at LayOut but lots of the regulars here are.

1 Like

Close both SketchUp and LayOut. Then try reinstalling them. Get the latest version which was released a couple or three days ago at Download All | SketchUp

2 Likes

Hi Dave,

I will try that. Let’s see if its gonna help.
Thank you so much guys.

M

The send to Layout options will be grayed out if SketchUp cannot find the matching version of LayOut, and that can happen on Mac if you do an update while LayOut is open.

So, when you follow Dave’s advice, first make sure SketchUp and Layout are closed, go into Applications and drag the SketchUp 2021 folder to Trash, and then go to the installer disk image window to copy the new version into Applications.