Sketchup to Cura - allegedly not watertight

dumbbell-only.skp (1.6 MB)

I’m pretty new to 3d printing but less new to sketchup and very new to cura.

I’ve browsed the forums here and have seen similar problems resolved by orienting faces and removing stray lines. I’ve inspected this simple model for over an hour looking for anything strange that would cause it to not be a solid. All the faces are properly oriented. I’m able to crawl around inside of the solid section and see that there are no burried faces or line segments. I was able to begin the print job on creality’s slicer software on another computer but on this machine I only have cura, which seems very unforgiving–even when I don’t have anything wrong in the model (so I think).

I have the ‘mesh tools’ plugin for cura. I made a very simple version of this which also said it wasn’t watertight, however I was able to slice it in cura. The one attached says it’s not watertight but it cannot slice it. Neither of the mesh tools fixes did anything beneficial to this model.

Please help!

Edit:
So this is really two questions. I mistakenly thought the ‘watertight’ error message was preventing me from slicing it somehow–even though my own question stated that “a simpler version” printed in spite of that error. The main question was “why won’t this slice?” The second one was “why isnt this watertight?” The former is solved. The latter I will check @colin 's solution as soon as I get a chance, which might be next week.
I appreciate the help and patience from everyone!

Your model looks fine to me in SketchUp. I exported it to .stl and uploaded that to i.materialise and there’s no problem shown with it there (except the price).

dumbbell-only.stl (13.4 KB)

I guess I’d look at Cura to see where the problem lies.

1 Like

It works fine in Cura for me.
Perhaps it is simply that your model is positioned below the origin.