Sketchup Pro 2021 Model Disappeared from View

Hi, I’m new to Sketchup Pro working on a home reno design model which has just disappeared. The file has been saved but when I open it, I can’t see the model. It is just a blank grey screen. I have checked the tags, purged and zoomed around but the model has just vanished.

Can’t seem to upload the model because it is too big…

Thanks in advance!!

If the model file size is too large to upload to the forum then there is a good chance that some or all of your data is there. However we will need to see the file to help. You will need to upload the file to a file sharing service and then post the link there.

Thanks…

Does this link work ? From sync…

Yes, posting that worked.

Your problem here is a cup of tea, really. You have a cup of tea in your model that is giant. It is so large it is causing the camera to go a little crazy trying to fit it all in. Open Window>Outliner and scroll down the list until you see the component <cup tea>, select it in the list and hit delete. Then hit zoom extents to see your model.

Or select View>Fog off. and you might just see the cup of tea so you can select it and delete it that way. Because…

You also have Fog display set to ON and in the same color as the background. So when you do get lost navigating because the tea is so big you cannot get back easily because you are lost in the fog. Open Window>Fog and uncheck display fog, or View>Fog off.

That’s a lot of tea…

2 Likes

Did you get the giant cup of tea from the 3D Warehouse. This illustrates one reason for always importing obects into a separate file so you can make sure they are suitable before adding them to your project.

In addition to the giant cup I see incorrect tag usage. ALL edges and faces should be created and left Untagged. Untagged should always be left active. In your file the tag called TOPOGRAPHY is active.
Screenshot - 2_25_2022 , 6_56_55 AM

I corrected the incorrect tagging of geometry.