SketchUp and Vray not working properly on brand new computer?

Hello, i have a problem with my program. I’m a student and just bought a brand new computer, with really good parameters so that it can work smooth with 3d visualizations. I’ve done my exterior school project in archicad, then decided to do my interior in sketchup.

1. I exported my file in Skp format and opened it in sketchup where i cleaned the unnecessary parts so that the file stays smaller.
  2. First problem was with the Sketchup, it was crashing every once in a while, just the screen turning white and a not responding text popping up.
  3. Second problem was whit the Vray. It was working so slow, i could hear my computer getting so loud with the ventilation every time i opened it and trying to do som renders. And it was crashing all the time also. And the worst become when i put all the lights and tried to make a render.

So, the problem is i don’t understand anything about computers and i just can’t figure out what the problem must be. If it comes from the settings for the SketchUp and Vray? Or can it be connected to wrong assemble of the computer at the first place or some windows problem? If anyone has encountered such problem, please help!

1 Like

Hi !

I won’t be able to help much, but I know what others will ask :

• Could you please give us information about your new computer ? brand, processor, ram, video card, os… chatever you have
  • have you checked if your graphic card is up to date ? (the drivers)
  • could you share one of the problematic files here with us ? either drag it into the text area, or use a secondary site (wetransfer, a drive…)

Just from the symptoms you describe, I’d say… graphic card is not updated ? but I don’t know, it could be the file, it could be other things.

I would bet it is related to the archicad export file, and how large it is (how many faces, edges, etc…)

In SKP go to Window>Model Info and make a screen shot - then we could see how large the model is.