SketchUp 2024 crashing too often

Hello, this is my first time posting so I’m not sure which information I’m supposed to include.

I use SketchUp every day for my landscape design business. I recently purchased a HP Zbook Firefly G10 Mobile Workstation, and downloaded SketchUp 2024 (I used 2023 on my previous laptop).

Since using v2024, SketchUp crashed a lot more often than when I used 2023 on my previous laptop (an Asus ROG Strix). Almost every time that I “repeat” use the offset tool by double-clicking, but right now it crashed just because I tried to open the Sketch Up warehouse.
This is working on a 2D Plan, so not involving super heavy objects.

Why do you think it is doing this and what can I do to make it stop? Should I go back to using SU 2023? Or is the issue from my laptop?

Thanks for your help
Colette

2 Likes

Is your graphics driver up to date from the manufacturer?

Did you try changing back to the old graphics engine in SketchUp settings / preferences?

Do you use any plugins? If yes, have you tried disabling them all and seeing if they might be causing the problem?

We did update SketchUp on Tuesday. Try a check for update inside SketchUp to see if you have the new version. There were a few crashing issues fixed in the update.

1 Like

Hello,

I just did the latest update, restarted my laptop and then did a test by using the offset tool - double click to repeat. After only the second one it crashed. I sent a report - Crash #54773

To answer bmike, I do not use any plugins. I did not try changing back to the old graphics card yet. And yes my graphics driver is up to date, I just found out how to check that! Thanks

Thank you very much for your help!

Quite the reverse, computers sit in storage before you buy them so they can be months out of date. Generally the first thing you should do with a new PC is update all the drivers.