SketchUp 2019 is...not so great ;(

Having recently migrated to SketchUp Pro2019 I’m finding the whole experience pretty lack lustre… I work as a Set Designer in the film and tv industry and we generally work at a high level of turnaround (and expectation!). i’m finding the whole cloud based experience to be incredibly frustrating; lagging commands, unresponsive keyboard shortcuts, blue spinning wheels of Windows to name a few.
The modeling constantly does not perform in the way that I’m used to - trimming lines causes the model to lose faces and every time I slice through a 3d volume I am left with multiple faces lying on top of one another - sooo frustrating…

I have just purchased a brand new Windows machine, i9 processor, Geforce GTX 1080 8Gb, 16Gb DDR4 3200mhz ram, running off an ssd drive, so there is no chance it is a hardware issue here…

C’mon Trimble, what’s the solution? Do I have to go back to running SketchUp 2017 then?

Or head over to the Autodesk counter…

Not happy, Bob. Not happy.

1 Like

What version are you using? 2019 isn’t any more cloud based than 2018 or 2017 (with the possible exception of the licensing).

2019 - then I can’t blame the cloud for the lagging performance, then?

Am using subscription based License…

Make sure SU is using the Nvidia card and that the card drivers are up to date.

1 Like

And V-Ray is installed but I’m not using any extensions as yet.
Running 4.6.0 Nvidia 391.01 - GTX 1070 is running - not 1080 as stated :wink:

Agreed. web based version is slow, materials control is really limited. We are on genuine 100mb fibre connection and new 27" iMacs, no excuse for slow modelling. Lack of material control is not an option. for us, we architects and need accuracy.

We’ll be looking around for an alternative package - any suggestions?

Why on earth do people think that Pro is in any way web based. The subscription license is a web handshake, nothing more. If you have a classic license it doesn’t even need the handshake.