Selecting new areas with cursor or Push/Pull on existing faces

Hi. I am a property developer but new to Sketch Up and I have just created my first model of a house we hope to build. Increasingly, as I have created my model, it has become difficult to select an area on a face to push / pull. For example creating doors in walls is almost impossible. If I use the orientation key and try loads of different positions I can randomly select the area required but it has become harder and harder to find a position that works. I have now got to the stage of putting in smaller details and I simply cannot get it to work at all. PLEASE someone help as I am close to giving up and trying a different program. Thank you in advance for any help.

Share the SketchUp file so we can see exactly what you have going on and we’ll help you.

@JamieS, before anyone can trow you a life buoy, you’ve already started swimming to the next boat?

As mentioned by @DaveR, please share the model file to go along with your description which is kind of hard to follow.
Have you applied groups and/or components at all?

Hi DaveR and Wo3Dan. Thanks for coming back to me. Is it possible that my groups are too big. I have grouped by floor with everything within each floor in the same group?

We can only guess as long as you are keeping us blindfolded. One thing is for certain, Push/Pull doesn’t work on groups or containers. You need to open them for editing until you get to the faces within. Push/Pull will only work on faces.

Hi Dave, yes I understand that and this problem is random. some faces work OK, others won’t select. I’ll to share the file.

Hi Again

Are you able to see this?

Thanks

Forum Model.skp (269.6 KB)

Yes.

Which faces are you trying to use Push/Pull on?