Renders turn out too smooth?

Hey guys! I need your help :wink:
I’m still very new to rendering and my current problem is the fact my renders tend to look to smooth to me. I don’t know how to explain it better but they are unrealisticly smooth, decreasing the noise level doesn’t seem to help. I also think it would be better if the edges weren’t that sharp and perfect. Do you have any tips to improve my renders and make them look a bit more realistic? Cheers!

There are 2 things you can do to help this specific thing.

1. Generate a noise texture as the bump texture to add some orange peel effect on your paint

2. Apply the edges texture to a 2nd bump channel to smooth the edges.

for #1, it might be simpler to use one of the built in wall paint options

Also, have a look at your post processing - the highlights are a little blown out, so you will be losing details to that - making it smoother.
Have a look at turning on the filmic tone mapping in the post processing area of the frame buffer - that will probably solve that for you

1 Like

I actually used one of Vray’s wallpaint material :wink: But I’lol def try out things you mentioned! Thanks :heart_eyes:

I’m seeing the same highlight burn issue as your Ball Lamp scene. That can help reduce the contrast of the lighting. Also when you said you’ve ‘decreased the noise level’ what do you mean? It might actually help you to bring some noise back into the scene - all physical cameras should have some noise. In the VFB under the right side section where the Exposure layer is, there is a setting for Denoiser. Try sliding that down and see what that looks like.