Rail Gears Plugin for Sketchup Make?

Hey Everyone,

I’m new to Sketchup Make, and for my college class I’m tasked with modeling and 3d printing gears in Sketchup. I have a plugin for involute gears; does anyone know of a plugin that makes Rail Gears? Like the bottom piece in the image below:
Thanks!

How about ready-made rack gear components ?

Is the task to model the thing or to search a plugin for it?

You can use the two plugins “line” and “move” to create it…

There’s a plugin to make rack and pinion gears. You can either make the involute gear, the rack (rail), or both. The plugin can be found here.

[added]

I do not get, down anything with the plugins “rack and pinion”
Should we do more after installing it?
thanks.

The plugin file named jimhami42_rack_and_pinion.rb needs to be copied into the plugins folder and then re-launch SketchUp.

You can also download the RBZ file from here:

https://sites.google.com/site/spirixcode/code/jimhami42_rack_and_pinion.rbz

and install it as an extension.

It is installed correctly, the problem is that it does nothing when I click. Thank you very much Greetings.

I don’t know what to tell you … It’s been tested with 2015, but I hadn’t tested it yet with 2016 (BTW, I’m using Windows 7 on a desktop). So I downloaded the RBZ file and installed it. You should get a popup like:

or, if using metric units:

I can not see these dialog popup.

If you launch the Ruby Console before trying to use the plugin, it may give some information about any errors. The Ruby Console can be found on the Window menu.

Working perfectly in SU 2016 Win7 and Win10

This is indicating the Ruby console:
Error: #<ArgumentError: Cannot convert “1.0"” to Length>
C:/Users/Tecno/AppData/Roaming/SketchUp/SketchUp 2015/SketchUp/Plugins/jimhami42_rack_and_pinion.rb:99:in to_l' C:/Users/Tecno/AppData/Roaming/SketchUp/SketchUp 2015/SketchUp/Plugins/jimhami42_rack_and_pinion.rb:99:in jimhami42_rack_and_pinion_input’